Tuesday’s Table

On Tuesdays I will be posting my favorite recipes that I either discovered on another site or book or that I’ve created myself.  This week I’ll be going light and healthy.  The first recipe I’ve been using for years and found on this terrific weight loss website called Spark People.  This is the Applesauce Oatmeal Muffin recipe which is extremely filling, sweet but not sickeningly so and if you want to be bad, goes FANTASTIC with TempTee Cream Cheese;)  Otherwise jelly is also nice but the muffins really do stand on their own:)

Ingredients

1 cup old fashion rolled oats (not instant)
1 cup non-fat milk
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
2 egg whites
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. sugar
raisins or nuts (optional)

Directions

Soak the oats in milk for about one hour. 
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
Spray muffin pan with cooking spray.
Combine the oat mixture with the applesauce and egg whites, and mix until combined.
In a separate bowl measure and whisk the dry ingredients together.
Add wet ingredients to dry and mix until just combined. Add nuts or raisins if desired.
Do not over mix the batter or the muffins will be tough. Spoon muffin mixture into muffin pan.
Combine the cinnamon and sugar and top each muffin with some of the mixture.
Bake for 20-25 minutes or until done.
Remove from pan, cool and enjoy.
These can be frozen and reheated in the microwave for a quick breakfast.

Number of Servings: 12

********************************************

Now I’m not ashamed to say I have been battling a weight problem for several years.  As it turns out I have  reactive hypoglycemia which I am learning how to control via medication and diet.  The one thing that helps me is having a LOT of protein.  I know it’s terrible but I hate eating breakfast in the morning (which is why I found these muffins because they’re great when you’re on the go).  However, I discovered a high protein breakfast will set me up with enough energy to last for hours which is far better than having to stop and grab something to eat every 2-3 hours or pass out with the shakes, crankiness, lack of concentration  and all that good stuff:-/  I used to rely on those Fiber One and Special K bars but in the Florida summer heat they just don’t sit well in the car.  So a relative clued me in to keeping high protein snacks in the car that won’t be damaged by the heat like mixed nuts, dried fruit and jerky.  I also need a lot of potassium but I’m wary of my sodium intake so I’m not crazy about the jerky idea but I’m looking into it.

Anyway, one of the things I love to indulge in is soda but I can’t STAND diet soda and don’t need to be drinking either!  However, I’ve recently discovered that combining Crystal light packets or squirting Mio into some club soda or seltzer water REALLY does the trick!  Whenever I feel like soda but don’t want the calories, and let’s be honest after drinking soda you just become more thirsty or hungry, I combine some lemon, lime (or lemon-lime) seltzer water with a squirt of Mio Strawberry Watermelon and I’m treated to a nice refreshing sparkling beverage without all the calories!  Just a word of warning, if you’re like me and you like to drink out of those plastic cups with the lid and straw that resemble something you’d get from a fast food place do yourself a favor and do NOT stir the mixture with the lid on unless of course you want to mimic the mentos in a soda bottle effect and spend the next 10 minutes cleaning up your kitchen counters:-p

Leave a Reply

