Foodie News

superb_owl

Greetings and salutations!

So, who’s ready for some FOOTBALL!!! Well, not me cuz while the big game is located on home turf, my beloved NY Giants just didn’t make the cut this year (AGAIN! But I digress).

There are some great appetizer options that are quick and easy to make or if you have a ton of time on your hands and love a challenge. For instance we’ve got the adorable and delicious Chicken and Waffle Bites which you can make entirely from scratch OR pull out some chicken nuggets and Eggo mini waffles from the freezer and plate them in mini cupcake liners and straws in your team colors along with your favorite syrup.

Couldn’t be simpler and oh so good!

And what’s a football game without cheesy potato skins? Check out this link for the recipe!

Are ya drooling yet?

I know I know “But I’m on a diet! I can’t eat that! My heartburn!” I hear ya folks. Football snacks don’t have to be about dripping grease and fat and cheese but it also doesn’t mean you have to be stuck grazing by the obligatory veggie platter or crackers and dip that look like something you’d feed to your parrot. For those of you who are more health conscious, whether you want to be or not, we have Sweet Potato Skins, Herb Marinated Chicken Skewers, and Strawberry Footballs!

C’mon, you know you want some!

Personally, this Sunday I’ll be tweaking a tried and true favorite with my friends and family: Smoky Cranberry Wings

NOM!

In local news, I’ll be entering my Pasta di Formaggio Mediterraneo in the Seminole Heights Sunday Morning Market 1st Annual Mac and Cheese Cook off on Sunday February 9th from 12-2pm at Hillsborough High School located at 5000 N. Central Avenue, Tampa. Tasting tickets are available for $7 and allows you to sample every dish in the contest and cast your vote for the People’s Choice Award. There are only 140 tickets available so don’t wait to get in on all the creamy cheesy goodness! All proceeds benefit Metropolitan Ministries’ culinary training program, Inside the Box.

More news to come. Stay warm and safe out there. Chow for now!

Leave a comment